JAINITUOS ANIME REVIEWS – JOJO’S BIZARRE ADVENTURE: STONE OCEAN – MY OWN IMPRESSIONS

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stone Ocean

Genre: Adventure, Fantasy, Supernatural

Studio: David Production

Hello my friends. Welcome to another entry of my blog.

After going on an adventure on a Galaxy, far, far away, with Star Wars Visions, I decided to go back to Earth to a very bizarre adventure… Well. Not really. But right now I want to write about a very funny experience that I got the last weekend, and I was about to watch the other three episodes of Spy X Family, as well as Shikimori-san, but before I realise, I was hooked on Netflix watching a really sweet anime, so I was thinking to Stand firm and watch everything to avoid another Standoff.

Yeah. That last part didn’t make too much sense.

Anyway… I adore JoJo.

Huh… I was talking about JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure.

I remember that it was 2012, my final year of Deakin, and then, shortly before graduation, I was introduced to this series called JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, about a young British man, called Jonathan Joestar, whose father adopted Dio Brando, and despite being given hips of love, Dio attempted to usurp Jonathan’s place as the head of the Joestar family and his love, Erina Pendleton; luckily Jonathan stops Dio, who turns into a vampire with a mythical object, called Stone Mask, that turns Dio into a vampire. Now, Jonathan must gather new allies and stop Dio with the help of the technique of Ripple. (波紋)

Thanks for that, Wikipedia.

All the first series got a fantastic soundtrack, including a sweet opening and the famous 1972 song, «Roundabout» by the progressive band «Yes», as ending.

By the way, this first series is called Phantom Blood, and its continuation features Erina and Jonathan’s grandson, Joseph in the 1930s, with the name of Battle Tendency. After the sweet success of the first series, David Production spawned three more anime based on the subsequent arcs of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure – Stardust Crusaders, Diamond is Unbreakable and Golden Wind.

And the iconic…. ORA ORA ORA ORA ORA!!

My point is that, as of 2022, ten years after the release of Phantom Blood and Battle Tendency, I watch on Netflix the sixth series of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure – Stone Ocean. And, to be honest, I waited months for watching it completely. And… it was the same essence of its predecessor, yet, it manages to feel fresh.

And, since I am here, I must ask for a question:

Are you guys ok? feeling healthy?

If the answer is yes, then I am happy.

Now, let’s get into a Stand… with JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure – Stone Ocean.

PREMISE

Set ten years after Golden Wind, and twelve years after Diamond is Unbreakable, Stone Ocean follows the daughter of Jotaro Kujo, Jolyne, who is sentenced to 15 years after being involved in a car accident and being framed of murder, she is sent to the Green Dolphin Street Prison. Once there, she is given a special power, called Stand, for a pendant, gift from her father. Afterwards, Jolyne is suddenly visited by Jotaro, who she barely know, who reveals her that it was a disciple of dio Brando who framed her of the murder, just where another disciple of Dio, Johngalli A. attacks them. In the battle, another Stand called Pale Snake steals both the memory disc from Jotaro, as well as his Stand Disc, Star Platinum.

Now Jolyne is determined to find the real culprit, as well as recovering the two stolen discs. Where she gathers some great allies, another inmate, called Ermes Costello, who receives a Stand from the pendant, F.F, or Foo Fighters, a water-based sentient Stand, Emporio, a young boy who was raised in Green Dolphin, and Weather Report, a Stand user with no memories of his past.

Just like the previous series of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, Stone Ocean was in charge of David Production. But I must confess a secret – I thought that all the franchise was animated by MAPPA Studio.

I hope I wasn’t the only one.

Anyway. Stone Ocean has great voice seiyuu, including Fairouz Ai (One-Punch Man) as Jolyne, Mutsume Tamura (Keep Your Hands off Eizouken!!) as Ermes, and Mariya Ise (The Promised Neverland) as F.F., and of course, Daisuke Ono as Jotaro.

All the episodes of Stone Ocean were released in December 1, 2021 on Netflix. And the soundtrack, just like in Phantom Blood, is fantastic, including Distant Dreamers, from British singer Duffy.

STORY

There is one word that can describe Stone Ocean – Big!!! Everything is big in the sixth series of JoJo’s the animation is big, the action scenes are big, the backgrounds are big, and the character development are big as well.

From the beginning, we are prepared with the great colour palette for something that was going to be as entertaining as Stardust Crusaders. And form me, even though I have watched Phantom Blood, Battle Tendency and Stardust Crusaders, I am still amazed of how awesome the battle scenes are in Stone Ocean. All the time there is that factor of surprise and creativity that engages you into the battle. Just like its predecessors, Stone Ocean puts a lot of tension and unpredictability in all the actions scenes, from the moment Jolyne arrives to Green Dolphin, until her first encounter with Gwess. Personally my favourite moment is when Ermes and Jolyne fight F.F.

And the body the later adopts.

She is indeed one of my favourite characters.

Furthermore, Stone Ocean takes its time to develop the different Stands of the story, exploiting their presence in a colourful, incredible animation that really adopts the passion of Hirohiko Araki in his art, and despite Stardust Crusaders is one of the best stories in this sense, Stone Ocean manages to maintain the spark of JoJo’s intact.

Also, the setting of a state prison gives a lot of identity to the story.

Believe me. Stone Ocean will always surprise you.

But, sometimes, I do not know exactly where some of the designs come from. What is the author thinking in some of them?

But that’s one of the elements that you can always enjoy from Stone Ocean.

Finally, one great gift for the fans, or sweet fanservice, is the appearance of Jotaro.

If you enjoyed the last series of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, you will definitely enjoy Stone Ocean.

And the characters are cool, with incredible designs, and all of them, even the minor characters are memorable. In fact, I remember the antagonists and all of the prison guards as much as our protagonist.

Like I said, F.F. is one of my favourite characters, but I also love Ermes Costello.

Trust me. You can choose your favourite.

CONCLUSION

This is a great, fun entry of the franchise we all love. And even though you are not a great fan, you will definitely have fun with it, either for curiosity or for fan loyalty. But in whichever case, this is an anime you can’t miss, especially if you have Netflix.

So do like Jolyne – sacrifice escaping to the outside world and watch JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure – Stone Ocean.

And thanks for those who read my previous review of Star Wars: Visions, Irina. Hope you have enjoyed it.

Now. I am going back to space. Jotaro… Can I get some help?

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! GALAXY!!! HERE I COME!!!!!

Deja un comentario