JAINITUOS ANIME REVIEWS – The God of High School – Episode One – First Impressions

The God of High School

Genre: Action, fighting, martial arts

Studio: MAPPA

Hello my friends.

Happy July to everybody. Many things have happened since the last two weeks, especially because, unfortunately, the COVID-19 cases have forced a complete lockdown in Victoria. Furthermore, during that time, I have been working in my special project, the one that I have been doing for years. But now, I have a small pause to write about a special element that is helping me to be strong toward the pandemic.

That element is Crunchyroll.

And now, after so many days, I finally watch a new Crunchyroll Original. We all know which one I am talking about, but I will do the proper introduction.

Let me introduce you:

But before I start, I want to give a very special message to people from Melbourne and Victoria.

«It’s making me really sad that the COVID-19 cases resurged. And thinking that we are going to a complete lockdown, after a lot of hard word, is absolutely discouraging. But… Do not despair. Remember that we are in all of this together, and we were able to beat the virus once. We will do it again. I have faith, just remember… follow the instructions of the doctors, and always spread the words of the experts. Hygiene is first. At the end, we will get through this. So… always have hope.»

After that, let’s start talking about The God of High School.

PREMISE

Based on the manhwa written by Yongjie Park, and published by Webtoon, The God of High School tells the Jin Mo-Ri, a 17-year old high schooler, who is invited to the tournament of the same name, in which the most powerful fighters all over South Korea are invited in order to prove which is the strongest. The tournament itself does not restrict any martial arts or any weapons, so you can be using swords or spears as well. Furthermore, the organisers of the tournament have stated that they will grant the champions any kind of desire or wish.

Small trivia. This part of the premise reminds me of…

Sorry. I couldn’t help to notice that similarity.

Anyway, Jin also has a couple of very good fighters at his side, Han Dae-wi, who is one of the best karateka in South Korea, and Yu Mi-Ra, a young fighter who wields a wooden sword. All of them, are going to participate in this tournament that will, definitely, change their lives.

Aside from that, The God of High School is animated by MAPPA, who, as we already know, is famous for making wacky anime as Kakegurui, Zombieland Saga, and one of my personal favourites.

Dorohedoro

At this point, I am already starting to see MAPPA studios as an expert on very wacky animation, in which the expressions and the body proportions of the characters are much deformed than before, or if preferred, longer than usual, mostly for comical purposes, and other times, for «epic» purposes. You can see that in Zombieland Saga and Kakegurui. And definitely The God of High School has the same attributes.

STORY

At very first sight, The God of High School start like any typical high school anime we are all familiar with. We have this excitable protagonist, in this case, Jin, that realises he is very late for a very important event. When I first say the episode, I thought that event was high school. Hey. He was wearing his uniform after all. Then, he rushes with this bike to the event, that is where he meets out lovely Yu.

My apologies. I still watch it in Spanish

Yu, who has a very obvious «preference» for muscles. In his way, Jin meets a burglar, and goes after him. After a series of wacky events, Yu and Jin meet. And we have time for this lovely guy who broascasts live and raps.

On one hand, I appreciate that he is using a facemask

Then, Han, who just finishes his shift at work, goes and luckily catches the thief. Just in time, so all of the three arrived to the tournament.

For some reason, I had a lot of fun watching the logos of Crunchyroll and Webtoon behind. I know both companies sponsor The God of High School, but I still thinks is really cute we have a bit of cameos.

Anyway, The last event is one of the sweetest battle royales any Crunchyroll Original could ever present. And then…

After it, I got some really good moments. The God of High School really kept this balance between action and comedy, especially through its animation, courtesy of MAPPA studios. Really good start.

CHARACTERS

Dude… what’s up with your nose?

Finally, The God of High School really presented well its characters, from Jin to this wacky host with his Monty Burns-like. every single character has a very nice moment to offer. One thing that really bugged me was the pupils of Jin. Every time I looked at him at the eyes, I feel weird. Just look at him.

I hope it is only me. Because, with Princess Hibana, the shaped-pupils look great.

Anyway, the characters of The God of High School are really getting me excited, in the same way Tower of God did, as well as Leviathan. I said it once, and I will say it again… Korean talent has great stories and proposals for the fans.

I hope that Crunchyroll Originals keep coming for the months to come.

CONCLUSION

I know see that The God of High School has a lot of potential. And I can’t wait until next week to see the next episode, as long as the pupils of Jin don’t stare at it. Or else… they will take my soul. Until next week. I will sim;y go back with Princess Hibana.

Especially for the new episode of Fire Force, season 2.

I better be prepared.

Yes, my princess.

Deja un comentario